American Law Institute

Corporate Board Elections
Internal Controls

27th September 2005
Federal Reserve Bank of New York

European Corporate Governance Institute

A free all-day conference co-sponsored by the American Law Institute and the European Corporate Governance Institute
Click name for biographies of speakers

8.00-8.30am Registration and coffee
8.30-8.45am Welcome
Thomas C. Baxter, Jr.
General Counsel and Executive Vice President, Federal Reserve Bank of New York

Michael Traynor

President of the American Law Institute and Senior Counsel, Cooley Godward LLP
Antonio Borges
Chairman, European Corporate Governance Institute and Vice-Chairman, Goldman Sachs International

Session 1– Keynote speech

8.45-9.30am Keynote speaker
William J. McDonough
Chairman of the Public Company Accounting Oversight Board
9.30-9.45am Coffee

Session 2– Corporate Board Elections


Roberta C. Ramo
Shareholder, Modrall, Sperling, Roehl, Harris & Sisk P.A.;
1st Vice President, The American Law Institute


Board elections in the United States

Robert Mundheim

Of Counsel to Shearman & Sterling
Board elections in Europe
Professor Guido Ferrarini
Professor of Law, University of Genoa; Vice Chairman of the ECGI and ECGI Fellow

Martin Lipton
Founding partner, Wachtell, Lipton, Rosen & Katz
Klaus J. Hopt
Professor and Director, Max Planck Institute for Foreign Private and Private International Law, Hamburg; Board member of the ECGI and ECGI Fellow
James H. Cheek III
Partner, Bass, Berry & Sims PLC
B. Espen Eckbo
Tuck Centennial Professor of Finance and Founding Director, Center for Corporate Governance, Dartmouth College; ECGI Research Associate

11.30am-1.00pm lunch (provided at no cost to delegates)

Session 3– Keynote speech

1.00-1.45pm Keynote Address
Alexander Schaub

Director General, European Commission, DG Internal Market

Session 4– Internal Controls


Myles V. Lynk
Peter Kiewit Foundation Professor of Law and the Legal Profession,
Arizona State University

Internal Control in the United States
John C. Coffee
Adolf A. Berle Professor of Law, Columbia University; ECGI Fellow
Internal Control in Europe

David Devlin
President, Fédération des Experts Comptables Européens (FEE)

Pierre Delsaux
Head of Unit and Acting Director, DG Markt, European Commission
Paul Saffert
Allianz AG
Alan L. Beller
Director, Division of Corporate Finance, U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC)
Charles W. Gerdts, III
General Counsel, PricewaterhouseCoopers LLP

Session 5– Floor discussion and summing up

Summing up
Lance Liebman
William S. Beinecke Professor of Law, Columbia University, Director of the American Law Institute Marco Becht
Professor of Finance and Economics, Université Libre de Bruxelles; ECGI Executive Director

4.30-6.00pm Post-conference reception
Venue: Federal Reserve Bank of New York